Aggies judge cattle at NC Classic |

Aggies judge cattle at NC Classic

Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture
Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture in Curtis who recently competed at the Nebraska Cattlemen’s Classic were, back row, from left, Jose De La Cruz, and Camden Wilke, both of Columbus; Grant Romshek, Adamsville, Ohio; Seth Racicky, Mason City, and Avery Bermel, Randolph. Front row, from left, Melody MacDonald, Fullerton; Bailey Johnson, Hastings; Lauren Nichols, Scottsbluff; Emily Riley, Norton, Kan.; and Matt Stichka, Mullen. (Smith / NCTA photo)
Photo by Doug Smith / NCTA photo

CURTIS, Neb. — Beef cattle evaluation holds great appeal for 10 Aggie students from the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture in Curtis.

“Our students engaged in a highly competitive contest at the Nebraska Cattlemen’s Classic Beef Cattle Judging Contest in Kearney recently,” said Doug Smith, livestock judging coach, and professor of animal science and agriculture education.

Youth of FFA and 4-H ages competed in junior, intermediate and senior divisions, along with the two-year and four-year college teams in evaluating beef cattle at the Buffalo County Fairgrounds.

Sophomore and freshmen team members from NCTA competed among 27 teams and 150 individuals in two-year colleges. Teams were comprised of five students.

Twelve teams and 72 students from four-year colleges also competed. The college divisions evaluated 12 classes of cattle and gave eight sets of oral reasons.

Animal placings and reasons are combined for an overall score. Teams and individuals are ranked by highest points.

The NCTA Aggie Sophomore team was sixth high team in placings, 13th high overall and 17th in reasons, Smith said.

The top Aggie judge was sophomore animal science major Garret Lapp of Adamsville, Ohio, who was fourth in placings and 24th overall.

Other members of the sophomore team are Seth Racicky, Mason City; Camden Wilke, Columbus; Emily Riley, Norton, Kan.; and Matt Stichka, Mullen.

NCTA’s freshmen were ranked 21st in both placings and overall team, and 23rd in reasons.

The freshmen were led by Lauren Nichols, Scottsbluff, with teammates Jose De La Cruz, Columbus; Avery Bermel, Randolph; Bailey Johnson, Hastings; and Melody MacDonald, Fullerton.

The next contest will be in mid-March when the sophomore team travels to the Houston Livestock Show. ❖

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


JBS USA to vaccinate Colorado workforce on March 5-6


JBS USA, in partnership with the Colorado Governor’s office, the National Guard, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, and our local union partners at UFCW and the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, have been…

See more