Candy Moulton: Spur Award winners announced at the Tucson Festival of Books |

Candy Moulton: Spur Award winners announced at the Tucson Festival of Books

Pulitzer Prize winner T.J. Stiles, the prolific Joe R. Lansdale and an 11-year-old Maine girl highlight the 2016 Spur Award winners from Western Writers of America.

Winners and finalists were announced Saturday at the Tucson Festival of Books and will be honored during WWA’s convention June 21-25 in Cheyenne, Wyo.

Lydia Schofield of Thorndike, Maine, became the youngest Spur winner in WWA history when “Buckaroo Bobbie Sue,” published by Little Hands Press, won the Storyteller Spur as best illustrated children’s book. The book, illustrated by Kristina Zack Young, was published under the penname JoJo Thoreau. Lydia’s mother, Tiffany Schofield, is acquisitions editor for Waterville, Maine-based Five Star Publishing.

Stiles’ “Custer’s Trials: A Life on the Frontier of a New America,” published by Alfred A. Knopf, won in the Best Western Biography category.

Lansdale, whose “Paradise Sky” (Mulholland Books), won for Best Historical Western Novel, is also a veteran of the Western genre.

Since 1953, Western Writers of America,, has promoted and honored the best in Western literature with the annual Spur Awards, selected by panels of judges. Awards, for material published last year, are given for works whose inspiration, image and literary excellence best represent the reality and spirit of the American West.

All winners :

Historical Novel: Winner: Paradise Sky by Joe R. Lansdale (Mulholland Books).

Contemporary Novel: Winner: Crazy Mountain Kiss: A Sean Stranahan Mystery by Keith McCafferty (Viking).

Traditional Novel: Winner: The Last Midwife by Sandra Dallas (St. Martin’s Press).

Mass-Market Paperback Novel: Winner: Lords of an Empty Land by Randy Denmon (Pinnacle).

Biography: Winner: Custer’s Trials: A Life on the Frontier of a New America by T.J. Stiles (Alfred A. Knopf).

Historical Nonfiction: Winner: William Wells and the Struggle for the Old Northwest by William Heath (University of Oklahoma Press).

Contemporary Nonfiction: Winner: The Size of the Risk: Histories of Multiple Use in the Great Basin by Leisl Carr Childers (University of Oklahoma Press).

Juvenile Nonfiction: Winner: This Strange Wilderness: The Life and Art of John James Audubon by Nancy Plain (University of Nebraska Press).

Juvenile Fiction: Winner: Walk on Earth A Stranger by Rae Carson (Greenwillow Books).

Storyteller (Illustrated Children’s Book) Winner: Buckaroo Bobbie Sue by author JoJo Thoreau and illustrator Kristina Zack Young (Little Hands Press).

Short Nonfiction Winner: “Cowboys and Capitalists: The XIT Ranch in Texas and Montana, 1885-1912” by Michael M. Miller (Montana The Magazine of Western History).

Short Fiction Winner: “The Scalper” by Richard Prosch (Western Trail Blazer).

Song Winner: “The Hand” by Trinity Seely and Waddie Mitchell (Bucket Bail Press).

Poem Winner: “All-American Biography” by Paige Buffington (Narrative magazine)

Drama Script Winner: Slow West by John Maclean (See Saw Films/Film 4/New Zealand Film Commission; A24).

Documentary Script Winner: Power’s War by Dodge Billingsley and Cameron Trejo (Amistad Entertainment LLC).

First Novel Winner: American Copper by Shann Ray (Unbridled Books).

First Nonfiction Book Winner: William Wells and the Struggle for the Old Northwest by William Heath (University of Oklahoma Press).❖

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


National Champions


On the heels of Kansas State University’s livestock judging team earning the highly-coveted No. 1 national championship in late 2020, K-State’s new 2021 livestock judging team competed a the new Cattlemen’s Congress in Oklahoma City…

See more

( function ( body ) { 'use strict'; body.className = body.className.replace( /\btribe-no-js\b/, 'tribe-js' ); } )( document.body );