CAWG Scholarship |

CAWG Scholarship

Colorado Association of Wheat Growers

The Colorado Association of Wheat Growers (CAWG) reminds high school seniors that the deadline for applying for the CAWG Scholarship is April 1. CAWG is also announcing a second $1,000 scholarship to be awarded this year, the “Friends of Wheat” scholarship, to be given in memory of Patty Wickstrom of Orchard, Colo., who passed away last fall.

The “Friends of Wheat” scholarship will be an annual scholarship awarded to a graduating high school senior. The purpose of this scholarship is to honor, in memoriam, someone who has influenced agriculture, specifically wheat, in our state.

The Friends of Wheat Scholarship will be entirely funded by donations. CAWG hopes to accumulate enough funding that the scholarship will continue on in perpetuity. Donations to the scholarship fund may be sent to: CAWG, 7100 S. Clinton Street, Ste. 120, Centennial, Colorado, 80112.

Applicants for either scholarships must be a Colorado high school senior. The applicant’s parent, grandparent, or legal guardian must be a current or new member of CAWG OR the applicant must be nominated by a current sponsor of CAWG. For a list of sponsors, please contact the CAWG office at (303) 721-3300, or visit the scholarship page at

This scholarships will be awarded to graduating high school seniors planning to attend an accredited college, university, junior college or community college. The students must enter college the same year as their graduation from high school. Students intending to major in agriculture related fields are strongly urged to apply.

The applicants must fill out and return the CAWG scholarship form no later than April 1, 2010. Two one-page essays are required as part of the scholarship application.

Recommended Stories For You

Those interested may contact the CAWG office at (303) 721-3300 for more information about the scholarship program. They may also obtain an application or download a copy of the application by visiting

The scholarship recipients will be announced in May 2010. The scholarship will be distributed in the summer of 2010 after the recipient provides confirmation of their enrollment in a college/university.