FFA Club News 5-9-11 | TheFencePost.com

FFA Club News 5-9-11

Bailey McClung
Soroco FFA Reporter

On April 28, 2011 the Soroco High School FFA chapter held their 2011 FFA Banquet at the High School. The Banquet was to honor the FFA members and the sponsors. There were 47 awards were presented along with five blue and gold graduation braided cords and two scholarships.

The awards were: Beef Entrepreneurship: Sophomore Cole Carnahan; Beef Placement: Senior Michael Rossi; Diversified Livestock Placement: Junior Madison George; Diversified Livestock Entrepreneurship: Junior Madison George; Nursery Operations: Sophomore Shelby Myer; Sheep Entrepreneurship: Sophomore Abbey Horn; Sheep Placement: Junior Madison George; Specialty Animal Placement: Senior Faith Leugers; Swine Entrepreneurship: Sophomore Misty Richmond; Open Ag 1 Record Book: Freshmen Jacey Schlegel; Closed Ag 1 Record Book: Sophomore Cole Carnahan; Ag 2 Placement Record Book: Junior Madison George; Closed Advanced Ag Science Placement Record Book: Senior Faith Leugers; Ag 1 Notebook: Freshmen Jacey Schlegel; Ag 2 Notebook: Junior Bailey McClung; Advanced Ag Science Notebook: Senior Cassie Meyer; Ag Mechanics Notebook: Sophomore Cole Carnahan; Horticulture Notebook: Junior Lindsay Miles; Scholastic Achievement: Freshmen Marley Hammer and Jacey Schlegel, Sophomores Jaelyn Whaley, Abbey Horn (two awards) Misty Richmond, Josie Rossi (two), and Cole Carnahan (two), Juniors Bailey McClung, Madison George (two), Lindsay Miles, Taylor Hammer (three) and Tristan Palyo, Seniors Dalton McClung (three), Faith Leugers (two), Cassie Meyer; Star Chapter Green Hand: Marley Hammer; Star Chapter Farmer: Jaelyn Whaley; Graduation Cords: Dalton McClung, Michael Rossi, Cassie Meyer, Austin Carnahan, and Faith Leugers. Scholarships: Faith Leugers and Michael Rossi.

Also during the banquet, the State FFA president Mack Witzel gave a speech and the new 2011-2012 Soroco FFA chapter Officers were announced. The officers are: President Taylor Hammer; Vice President Jaelyn Whaley, Secretary Misty Richmond; Treasurer Abbey Horn; Reporter Bailey McClung; Sentinel Tristan Palyo; and the Historian is Marley Hammer. We gave a warm welcome to the incoming officers and sadly say good bye to the past officers: President Michael Rossi; Vice President Faith Leugers; Secretary Taylor Hammer; Treasurer Madison George; Reporter Michael Bostock; Sentinel Jaelyn Whaley; Historian Abbey Horn; and the Executive Committee Tristan Palyo and Misty Richmond.

Peabody Coal and 20 Mile Coal Mine got the honorary chapter FFA degree because they were a huge supporter for the greenhouse and gave the Soroco FFA chapter a lot of money to help build the schools greenhouse.

Congratulations to all the FFA members for their hard work and dedication to their chapter to make this banquet a huge success. Also thank you to all of the sponsorships who helped make this happen.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User