Jana Kruger elected as Nebraska State Fair Chair | TheFencePost.com

Jana Kruger elected as Nebraska State Fair Chair

Jana Kruger of Arlington, Neb., has been elected chair of the Nebraska State Fair board of directors for the upcoming year. Kruger replaces Sallie Atkins of Halsey at the top spot since Atkins has left the board due to term limits. According to Atkins, “I am so pleased that Jana has taken over the helm of the Nebraska State Fair. She has been a tireless supporter of the fair, and will use her vast experience to propel the State Fair to new heights in the future.” Joseph McDermott, Executive Director of the State Fair echoed Atkins comments saying, “I look for the same inspired leadership from Jana Kruger that we were fortunate to have in Sallie Atkins.”

Board member Tam Allan was re-elected to serve as Vice Chair while Dan Kunnemann was re-elected as board treasurer. The position of Secretary ended in a tie between board members Van Neidig and Doug Brand. A tie-breaker vote is anticipated during the next meeting in Grand Island.

To fill the remaining board seats left vacant by term limits, Governor Dave Heineman has appointed Lowell Minert of Dunning to serve the Third Congressional District of Nebraska. Special elections will be held to fill the expired terms of Jerry Fitzgerald of Scottsbluff and Joe Andrews of Bassett.

The Nebraska State Fair board has a total of 13 members. For more information, visit their website at: http://www.statefair.org.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User