Low interest emergency loans available

Farm Service Agency

On May 26, 2008, President George W. Bush declared two Colorado counties eligible for disaster assistance due to losses caused by severe storms and tornadoes that occurred May 22, 2008. Weld and Larimer County are the two primary counties included in this designation. Contiguous counties include: Adams, Broomfield, Jackson, Morgan, Boulder, Grand and Logan. This designation makes all family-sized farm operators in primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for low interest emergency (EM) loans from Farm Service Agency (FSA) provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, repayment ability and other eligibility requirements.

The deadline for filing applications is January 26, 2009.

For applications and further information please contact Farm Service Agency, Attn: Bryan Cook, Farm Loan Manager, 57 West Bromley Lane, Brighton, Colo., 80601, (303) 659-0525 ext. 2, or your local Farm Service Agency County Office.