Nebraska Corn Board honors individuals |

Nebraska Corn Board honors individuals

Courtesy PhotoDon Hutchens, executive director of the Nebraska Corn Board; Ken Anderson of Brownfield News Network - winner of Media Award; Ralph Holzfaster, farmer from Paxton, Neb. - winner of Ag Achievement Award; Chuck Woodside of KAPPA Ethanol - winner of Ethanol Industry Appreciation Award; Dan Rice of Prairieland Dairy - winner of Livestock Industry Appreciation Award; and Alan Tiemann, chairman of the Nebraska Corn Board. Missing from picture: Dale Hayek of Farmers Cooperative - winner of Elevator Industry Appreciation Award.

Buy Photo

LINCOLN, Neb. – The Nebraska Corn Board presented awards to five Nebraskans during its Cooperator and Awards Dinner in Lincoln last week.

Each year, the Nebraska Corn Board recognizes those in its related industries who help promote, develop and defend not only the corn industry, but agriculture in general. The recognition awards are the Nebraska Corn Board’s way of paying tribute to an outstanding representative in the grain elevator, livestock, and ethanol industries, as well as awarding an individual in the media, and overall ag achievement.

“We are blessed in Nebraska with fine leaders within our ag industry,” said Don Hutchens, executive director of the Nebraska Corn Board. “Some of those leaders you read about on a regular basis, and some are behind the scenes. We are honored to recognize those that have helped further develop the $7 billion corn industry in Nebraska.”

Dale Hayek was announced as the Elevator Industry Appreciation Award recipient that will be presented at a later date. Hayek is with Farmers Cooperative, headquartered in Dorchester, Neb. He was chosen for his proven leadership in explaining the benefits of the corn checkoff and its investments, as well as supporting Nebraska agriculture.

The Livestock Industry Appreciation Award was given to Prairieland Dairy of Firth, Neb., with Dan Rice being present to accept the award. This award honored Prairieland Dairy for its recognition of the value of corn and corn co-products, the corn checkoff investment towards livestock programs, and consumer education of the importance of the livestock industry to the state.

The Ethanol Industry Appreciation Award was given to Chuck Woodside, Chief Executive Officer of KAAPA Ethanol, LLC, a farmer-owned ethanol plant in Minden, Neb., for his commitment to supporting Nebraska agriculture through the production of ethanol.

The Media Appreciation Award was awarded to Ken Anderson of the Brownfield Network, Lincoln, Neb., for his dedication to the corn industry and helping to tell agriculture’s story.

The Ag Achievement Award honored someone who has carried the torch, not just this year, but for many years. This award was given to Ralph Holzfaster of Paxton, Neb., for his ability to demonstrate vision, commitment and a deep understanding of the value of agriculture and the corn checkoff to the state of Nebraska.

The Ag Achievement Award was first presented in 1991 with the purpose of recognizing an individual with outstanding, unselfish and sacrificial efforts that further the corn industry.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User