Rocky Mountain Ag Briefs 1-2-12 |

Rocky Mountain Ag Briefs 1-2-12

Ute Mountain Farm & Ranch Enterprise of Towaoc, Colo., won a first place award in the National Corn Growers Association Corn Yield Contest. This is the second year in a row that the farm has taken first place in the No-Till/Strip Till Irrigated Class. The yield this year was 315.1727. Last year’s yield was 335.9325 bushels per acre. The contest has winners on the national and state level. Farmers from Holyoke, Springfield, Arapahoe, Stratton, Rocky Ford, Walsh and Pueblo took home awards on the state level. The contest is in its 47th year.

For more information, please go to

The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency Weld County committee election results are in. Kevin Schmidt, of LaSalle, Colo., was elected to serve as Weld County’s Local Administrative Area 2 representative. Timothy Scholfield will serve as the first alternate and Evert Larson is the second alternate. Elected committee members serve for three years and are responsible for various duties including decisions on disaster, conservation, commodity and price support programs and more. Delwyn Northup, of New Raymer, Colo., represents Area 1 and Jeff Cooksey, of Roggen, Colo., represents Area 3.

For more information, please contact the Weld County FSA office at (970) 356-8097 or call

On January 12, 2012, members from Senator Michael Bennet’s legislative staff from Washington, D.C., will hold meetings in Greeley, Colo. This will give farmers a chance to share their ideas. The meetings will be held in the Weld County Administrative Building, located at 1150 O St. in Greeley, Colo.

Here is a schedule of the meetings:

• 10:30-11:30 a.m. Dairy Producers

• 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Corn


• 1-2 p.m. Beef Producers

• 2-3 p.m. Sugar Beet Producers

• 3-5 p.m. Competitive Colorado

Agriculture Roundtable

To RSVP for the meetings, please contact James Thompson at (970) 224-2200 or

The Colorado Wheat Administrative Committee (CWAC) and the Colorado Association of Wheat Growers (CAWG) will be holding their annual meetings and elections January 9-12 at various locations around Colorado.

To see a schedule of meetings, please go to

Agriculture Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack announced 29 appointments to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. The board is composed of 103 appointees selected by the Secretary.

For a list of new appointees, go to

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more