Rocky Mountain Junior Beef Expo |

Rocky Mountain Junior Beef Expo

The 2009 Rocky Mountain Junior Beef Expo drew 111 head of animals from five states to Greeley over the Memorial Day weekend.

The show is sponsored by donations from individuals, organizations, and companies interested in promoting the beef industry. Those sponsors provided $7,100 for cash premiums paid to participants as well as trophy belt buckles and gear bags. The show is managed by Steve and Gail Fiolkoski of Pierce, Colo., and Gene Inloes and Sharon Heiden Inloes of Greeley, Colo.

Kyle Colyer of Bruneau, Idaho, was this year’s judge. He ranches and raises Hereford and Angus cattle and attended Kansas State University where he was a member of the 1999 livestock judging team. Exhibitors, aged 8-20, came from Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Utah and Wyoming.

This year’s Expo opened May 23, and cattle were exhibited the following day at Island Grove Regional Park.

Winners of the morning heifer show:

– Supreme Champion Heifer, winning $1,000 ” P. D. Miller, Torrington, Wyo.

– Reserve Supreme Champion Heifer, winning $500 ” Paige Miller, Torrington, Wyo.

– Third Heifer Overall, winning $250 ” Taylor Hett, Roggen, Colo.

– Fourth Heifer Overall, winning $100 ” Morgan Burke, Genoa, Neb.

Winners of the breed divisions:

– Angus Heifers ” Morgan Penner, Lafayette, Colo., champion; Kyndal Reitzenstein, Kersey, Colo., reserve champion.

– Balancer Heifers ” Tiana Garcia, Las Animas, Colo., champion.

– Charolais Heifers ” Clint Calkins, Lakin, Kan., champion.

– Chianina Heifers ” P. D. Miller, champion; Mckinzie Miller, Columbus, Neb., reserve champion.

– Gelbvieh Heifers ” Mitch Garcia, Las Animas, Colo., champion.

– Hereford Heifers ” Katie Ernst, Windsor, Colo., champion; John Hampton Cornelius, La Salle, Colo., reserve champion.

– Limousin Heifers ” Cassidy Woodard, Calhan, Colo., champion; Caitlyn Ochsner, Kersey, Colo., reserve champion.

– Maine Heifers ” Taylor Hett, champion; Morgan Burke, reserve champion.

– Red Angus Heifers ” Amber Thormodsgard, Briggsdale, Colo., champion.

– Saler Heifers ” Curtis Doubet, Parker, Colo., champion; Cody Doubet, Parker, Colo., reserve champion.

– Shorthorn Heifers ” Garrett Liss, Elbert, Colo., champion; Clayton Liss, Elbert, Colo., reserve champion.

– Simmental Heifers ” Paige Miller, champion; Shayde Frank, Cheyenne, Wyo., reserve champion.

In the Jackpot Commercial Heifer Show, sponsored by Mike and Nancy Lohr, Lohr Cattle Company of Gill, Colo., the winners were:

– Champion Jackpot Commercial Heifer – Phillip Peart, Randolph, Utah.

– Reserve Champion Jackpot Commercial Heifer – Tori Hett, Roggen, Colo.

The afternoon’s steer and market heifer show winners:

– Supreme Champion Market Animal winning $1000 ” Cody Burke, Genoa, Neb.

– Reserve Supreme Champion Market Animal winning $500 ” Laurie Reid, Brighton, Colo.

– Third Place Market Animal winning $250 ” Tanner Anderson, Eaton, Colo.

– Fourth Place Market Animal Winner winning $100 ” Skylar Miller, Torrington, Wyo.

Individual breed winners:

– Charolais Steers ” Cody Huwa, Roggen, Colo., champion; Brody Woods, Vernal, Utah, reserve champion.

– Hereford Steers ” Bailey Hitner, Peyton, Colo., champion.

– Limousin Steers ” Dalton Lind, Eaton, Colo., champion; Grace Freund, Elizabeth, Colo., reserve champion.

– Maine Steers ” Laurie Reid, champion; Skylar Miller, Torrington, Wyo., reserve champion.

– Shorthorn Steers ” Brandon Fritz, Greeley, Colo., champion; Sarah Cooksey, Roggen, Colo., reserve champion.

– Simmental Steers ” Levi Zwirn, Otis, Colo., champion; Breelyn Frank, Wray, Colo., reserve champion.

– Crossbred Steers ” Cody Burke, champion; Tanner Anderson, reserve champion.

– Market Heifers ” P.D. Miller, champion; Hillary Hayes, Rangely, Colo., reserve champion.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User