Turkey Creek Regulators host the 2012 Nebraska State Shoot | TheFencePost.com

Turkey Creek Regulators host the 2012 Nebraska State Shoot

Story & Photos by Lindsey Salestrom
Lincoln, Neb.

Cowboy mounted shooters from across the Midwest came to Ag Park in Columbus, Neb., for an old west shoot out. June 23-24, the Turkey Creek Regulators hosted the 2012 Nebraska State Shoot. Twenty-six club members and shooters from neighboring states took their shot at bringing home the Nebraska State Championship title.

The event was sanctioned by the Cowboy Mounted Shooting Association (CMSA), an organization that promotes both accuracy with a firearm and horsemanship. To help level the playing field, and to include as many riders as possible, mounted shooting is divided up among skill level and gender. Shooters start in level one and can progress up to a level six. If shooters are over 50 they can choose to compete in the senior division. For young riders there is a Wrangler division allowing them to riding the same courses only using cap guns instead of single-action revolvers with blanks.

The association has a course book containing 64 possible courses, six of which are drawn at random to be used during the competition. Ten balloon targets are situated throughout the pattern that competitors must attempt to shoot; each target missed results in a five second penalty. Competitors must navigate through all six courses, and the participant with the fastest overall time wins.

When the dust cloud settled and the smoked cleared Carl Watson of Kirksville, Mo., had done just that. After all six stages were complete Watson was penalty free and had a smoking fast overall time of 81.345 seconds. Following closely on his heels were Iowa shooters, Eric Viers of Maxwell and Todd Jackson of Creston with times of 88.079 and 89.577 respectively.

Winners of the Ladies divisions include: Jenna Stulgies, Ladies Level 1; Jami Lindsley, Ladies Level 2; Jessica Warner, Ladies Level 3; Rhonda Kaup, Senior Ladies Level 1, and Marlene Harizal, Senior Ladies Level 3.

Winners of the Men’s divisions were: Joe Sekutera, Men’s Level 1; Paul Hughes, Men’s Level 2; Todd Jackson, Men’s Level 3; Mike Wertz, Men’s Level 4, Carl Watson, Men’s Level 5, and Eric Viers, Senior Men’s Level 5.

Trey Seevers won the Wrangler division.

Winners from the Nebraska State Shoot other CMSA sanctioned events; earn shooters points that advance their shooting level. In addition, once enough points are earned participants will be qualified for a regional shoot and the world championship shoot to be held in Amarillo, Texas, this October.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


Hay helps rural Nebraskans explore clean energy options


LINCOLN, Neb. — Making the switch to clean energy is not a one-size-fits-all endeavor. John Hay, a Nebraska Extension educator who conducts workshops on solar energy, helps individuals make the decision that best suits their…

See more