UNL Block and Bridle posthumously names Vance Uden 2010 honoree | TheFencePost.com

UNL Block and Bridle posthumously names Vance Uden 2010 honoree

LINCOLN, Neb. – University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Block and Bridle will posthumously honor Vance Uden as the 76th member of its Hall of Fame.

The Franklin native will be honored April 23 at the Department of Animal Science and Block and Bridle annual honors banquet at 6:30 p.m. at the Nebraska East Union on UNL’s East Campus. Tickets to the banquet are $20 and can be purchased by calling Andi Hallber, club secretary, by April 16 at (402) 472-6440. A reception honoring Uden’s family, friends and past honorees will precede the banquet at 5:30 p.m.

Uden’s widow, Connie, and children, Dru and Ty, will represent the family at the event.

The Block and Bridle Hall of Fame honors individuals who have made commendable contributions to Nebraska agriculture through leadership, service, youth projects and community projects.

Uden’s family owns and operates the TC Ranch and are Angus seedstock producers.

Uden and his wife established TC Ranch as a leader in the Angus breed. Uden spent his life actively promoting the beef cattle industry in Nebraska and nationally and helped and worked with young people in the beef industry.

The Udens hosted 4-H’ers, university students, judging teams and producer groups at the ranch on many occasions. He spoke to UNL classes and was a supporter of 4-H locally and throughout the state. He took particular pride in his support and stewardship through many different avenues of the animal science department.

Uden was a UNL graduate, member of the UNL livestock judging team and Block and Bridle. He was a member of the board of directors for the American Angus Association, member of Nebraska Cattlemen’s Beef Association, Nebraska Cattlemen and Kearney/Franklin County Cattlemen and a member and past president of the Nebraska Angus Association.

He was awarded the 2008 Beef Improvement Federation Seedstock Producer of the Year, 2008 Nebraska Angus Breed of the Year, 2007 Beef Improvement Seedstock Producer Roll of Excellence, 2005 Inductee into the Angus Heritage Foundation, 1996 Master Breeder of the Year, and 1992 Soil and Water Conservation Steward.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User