USDA designates 3 Wyoming counties as primary natural disaster areas |

USDA designates 3 Wyoming counties as primary natural disaster areas

WASHINGTON — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated three Wyoming counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Crook, Lincoln and Sublette counties who suffered losses caused by recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

Wyoming: Campbell, Fremont, Sweetwater, Teton, Uinta and Weston

Idaho: Bear Lake, Bonneville and Caribou

Montana: Carter and Powder River

South Dakota: Butte and Lawrence

Utah: Rich

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Aug. 17, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User