USDA designates Sheridan County, Wyoming, as a primary natural disaster area |

USDA designates Sheridan County, Wyoming, as a primary natural disaster area

WASHINGTON — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated Sheridan County, Wyoming, as a primary natural disaster area. Producers who suffered losses due to flooding that occurred between May 26 and June 21 may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Wyoming counties of Big Horn, Campbell and Johnson, along with Big Horn and Powder River counties in Montana, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans. The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is May 6, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for more information. Additional information is also available at


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more