Fortenberry to be ranking member on the House Ag Approps Subcommittee |

Fortenberry to be ranking member on the House Ag Approps Subcommittee

Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, R-Neb., will be ranking member on the House Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee in the 116th Congress, House Appropriations Committee ranking member Kay Granger, R-Texas, announced.

Democratic leaders have already announced Rep. Sanford Bishop, D-Ga., will chair the subcommittee. Rep. Robert Aderholt, R-Ala., who chaired the subcommittee in the 115th Congress, could not continue in the top leadership position on agriculture due to GOP term limits and will chair the Commerce, Justice, Science Subcommittee, Granger said.

HELM Agro US hires Taylor as northern Corn Belt sales manager

TAMPA, Fla. – HELM Agro US, Inc. announces the hiring of Craig Taylor as the company’s new Northern Corn Belt regional sales manager. In this role, Taylor is responsible for promoting sales of the HELM crop protection portfolio and supporting the company’s distributor and retailer network in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota and Wisconsin. Taylor brings more than 27 years of agronomic product sales experience to the HELM organization. Most recently, he was the Northern Midwest retail account manager for Dupont Chemical Company. Prior to that, Taylor held the positions of soybean marketing manager and TruChoice product manager for the same company. Taylor also served in marketing and sales roles with Monsanto and Novartis Crop Protection at earlier times in his career. Taylor holds a bachelor of science in agricultural education from Iowa State University in Ames. He currently resides in Albert Lea, Minn. He can be contacted at

New grassroots leaders take the helm at the Farm Bureau

Delegates at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 100th Annual Convention elected members to serve as board and committee leaders for the organization. Stefanie Smallhouse, president of Arizona Farm Bureau, and Todd Fornstrom, president of Wyoming Farm Bureau, were elected to two-year terms on the AFBF board of directors representing the Western Region. Fourteen other state Farm Bureau presidents were re-elected to two-year terms to represent their regions on the board: Western Region: Hans McPherson, Montana; Northeast Region: Chuck Fry, Maryland and Don Tuller, Connecticut; Southern Region: Jeff Aiken, Tennessee; Ronnie Anderson, Louisiana; Russell Boening, Texas; Gerald Long, Georgia; Mike McCormick, Mississippi; Rodd Moesel, Oklahoma; and Larry Wooten, North Carolina; Midwest Region: Richard Felts, Kansas; Richard Guebert, Jr., Illinois; Craig Hill, Iowa and Kevin Paap, Minnesota. Re-elected to two-year terms on the AFB Women’s Leadership Committee were Sherry Saylor of Arizona (chair), Isabella Chism of Indiana (vice chair), Marieta Hauser of Kansas, Debbi Tanner of Connecticut, Lorenda Overman of North Carolina and Carol Guthrie of Idaho. Paul Molesky of New York was elected as the new chair of the AFBF Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee for a one-year term, which makes him a member of the AFBF board of directors. ❖